THREE BOOKS!!!! Delirium, Pandemonium, Arcana!!

READ THESE BOOKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

SO, I Delirium a while ago, maybe about 2 years ago and I loved it! But when I started with Pandemonium I just sort of lost interest. Even know when I started reading Pandemonium I had to be very patient with the author because all the while during the past when Lena was in the Wilds, it was mostly description.

But after reading Delirium and Pandemonium I am sure this is my favorite series in a different light. Lauren Oliver writes in A TOTALLY DIFFERENT STYLE than Kresley Cole and JLA BIG TIME. JLA writes more like a very sophisticated writer on Wattpad. You get hooked from the very beginning to the very end, there is NO boring moment. There’s the whole fanfiction feel to it I guess and it just DIRECTLY relates to teenagers.

Lauren Oliver’s style is clean and planned. Everything is simple yet complicated and everything serves a purpose. It’s a different style than I was used to reading and it closely resembled books that i have to read in English class. The plot was captivating and she took time, a lot of time to describe things. I actually skipped a few pages in Pandemonium but quickly went back when I realized it all served a purpose. It was really interesting though.

Although I think it has more to do with the fact that it was definitely a dystopian type of book because when I read the Hunger Games and Divergent a few years ago I vaguely remember the writing styles being the same.

NOW LETS GET TO THE FUN STUFF! I JUST WANTED TO POINT THAT OUT!

DELIRIUM AND PANDEMONIUM! Aboslutely fantastic!! I finished Delirum sometime in the afternoon a few days ago and knew I had to finish the entire series before posting a review about it! But Overdrive (the ebook library I’m using) has this thing about downloading books and waiting 14 days before you can get a new one EVEN IF YOU RETURN THE TITLE so I downloaded 5 BOOKS and returned 3 of them to download some other ones but now I can’t get more books for 6 more days …

ANNYYYWAYYYY! So I can’t read Requiem for 6 more days and it suuuucccckkkkkssss!!! The end of Pandemonium had be crying. ALLLLEEEXXXX I LOVE YOU BUT WHHHYYYY NOW WHATS GOING TO HAPPEN TO JULIAN? AND LENA? AND WHAT HAPPENED TO YOU?! PLEASE DON’T HATE LENA!

That was me times a billion. So to soothe my raging emotions I picked up a physical (YES, REAL BOOKS YOU CAN HOLD IN YOUR HAND, ACTUAL PAGES, BOOK SMELL, YASSSS! REAL BOOKS ROCK! PLEASE DON’T LET REAL BOOKS GO EXTINCT, THEY ARE THE BEST FORMS OF READING EVER!) copy of Dead of Winter and I CANNOT GIVE YOU A REVIEW. I WILL NOW. I AM ANGRY AT THE END.

I AM ANGRY AT JACK (UUHHHHGGGG yooouuu!)

I AM ANGRY AT ARIC (well…not really i love him! I love Jack too but Jack made me so angrrryyy! But Aric made me angry too at some parts)

I AM ANGRY AT THE HIGH PRIESTESS (if you and the Red Queen were so buddy buddy in the other life why oh WHHHYYYYYY are you leaving her to make such a tough decision by herself. I mean yeah sure they’re enemies but Evie said she remembered the Red Queen laughing with the High Priestess until they had tears in their eyes. I really think Evie should’ve consulted her…)

I AM ANGRY AT EVANGELINE! (YOU HAD ALL THIS TIMMMEE! AND THEN YOU WAIT until Aric tells JACK THE untilmate TRUTH?! AND YOU WAIT UNTIL THE EMPEROR FINALLY COMES OUT TO PLAY THE GAME?!!!)

I AM ANGRY AT THE EMPEROR! (you wait until EVIE IS RIGHT THERE, RIGHT THERE! To flood the entire valley with LAVA!? I really hope Evie does to him what she did to the Alchemist or with the twins…)

I WAS SO FREAKED OUT WITH THE TWINS! ( LIKE….Vincent…you…oh mu goodness….um…and hot spoons and hot plates…actually, Kresley Cole scares me like what kind of imagination do you have?! coming up with such torture instruments…)

I felt so bad for Jack and I think it’s a bit unrealistic how fast he recovered from the twins if what he went through was really that disturbingly and agonizingly tragic. If Selena can be found shut down…what could they have done to Jack? They had him in their hold longer than they had Selena…

Matthew…I actually hate everyone in the book for being so blind toward Matthew’s prophecies and his own personal problems, especially Evie. She really cares about him but in the sense that he’s too innocent and he can’t take care of himself. I understand that his actions are what made her feel that way and when she saved him in Poison Princess is definitely a sisterly thing to do but she needs to see him also as one of the players. He also has a duty. He is the Fool. He doesn’t only have to consult you, but also Aric and the others too. He isn’t her possession and he can take care of himself. I truly believe that everyone in the Arcana, even the High Priestess will think it foolish and nonsensical to take Matthew out, except the Emperor. And why can’t she forgive him? He really is trying his best. HE REMEMBERS THE GAME. But he knows Evie is trying to stop the game this time…he is overloading and his suffering. She cares for him but her concern is hurting him. Like Aric said, let the Fool rest.HE NEEDS TO REST. Not sleep, but to just rest. I think Matthew does love Evie too in the end, his new self. But he can’t deny his role in everything…I just hope two of the Arcana get married and adopt Matthew as a son or something because he is just so amazing but I KNOW he’s the most under looked character of the book.

Aric is angry that the Emperor killed the Empress in ONE game. Even though he had killed her in like…ALL the games. I really hope he doesn’t turn to being Death again even though he will always be Death. I really love how Cole went deep into his character in this book as well as the one before, Endless Knight. I used to dislike Aric but I’ve grown to love him. He doesn’t know how things work. He’s won every game and he’s been alive since eighteen sixty something. Evie should’ve just cut him some slack.

ONE LAST THING I NEED TO SAY. KRESLEY COLE BETTER MAKE EVIE RETURN TO ARIC OR ELSE THIS IS THE WORST ROMANCE IN A BOOK I HAVE EVERY READ AND I HAVE READ A LOT:

  • Aric had faith and trust and confidence in Evie that she would come to him. HE HAD SO MUCH HOPE IN HER. Jack? He did too. Until he heard Aric had found Evie’s grandmother for her. HE THOUGHT ARIC WAS BETTER THAN HIM. And by thinking that, Aric was better. In all of the book, Aric never lost faith or hope and confidence in himself, or Evie, or both of them together. And even when she was riding out to find Jack, he was so certain she would change her mind. Jack lost faith in Evie and before she even made a decision, HE left HER, scared, RUNNING AWAY leaving a LETTER. And Evie went after him. As much as I appreciate the gender roles in the last 30 pages of the book, I hate that she had to go after him. Jack had faith in them because he believed in them. If Aric made him doubt that, I don’t think Evie should be with him. Aric had even more faith in Evie because living in loneliness for THAT long, he truly believed he had nothing to lose. He put his entire existence…he PROVED TO her by not killing Jack at the twin’s place his loyalty and devotion! He knew Evie and Jack had memories he could never make with her, they had experiences, high school, Clotile, that stupid party, laughing…all that he couldn’t connect with her with. But he never doubted her, he and her, he never doubted THEM. Jack continuously pointed out Aric’s flaws even when Jack told Evie Aric’s plan on what he was going to do if she couldn’t end the game. Even then…his shock when he knew he decision, he never doubted her. When Jack saved her from the Bagmen while Aric stood close by, KNOWING she could save herself. I love Jack, he had his own past horrible terrible experiences too but all their pitiful past forgotten, their characteristics, honesty, loyalty, everything? Aric is MORE than qualified. And to have a person so overqualified for a position but still not being ‘popular’ enough to recieve it is just too close to reality. And reality makes me angry 95% of the time. I really don’t like this.

  • I don’t wish Jack is dead and I really believe he’s not eve though the whole river flooded… I don’t think Selena is either but maybe that is just wishful thinking. Because if Jack is dead…thats a perfectly good waste of an amazing character right there! And it would also mean Aric would be Evie’s second choice and that’s even worst. I just don’t get it…Jack has doubted Evie and even she had doubted him! Death…I can’t think one time he doubted her. UHHHGGGGGG Mkas my heart ache…

And I said I wasn’t going to review on it. Now you know why. And I have to wait to NEXT YEAR for the next book to come out. And I have to wait SIX DAYS to get Requiem…and I have to wait until NOVEMBER for the third book of Relentless to come out…WHY. WHY. WHHHHHHHHYYYYYYYY? MY 3 FAVORITE SERIES OF ALL TIME!?!! WHHYYY?

(BTW I TOOK SOME SCREEN SHOTS OF MY FAVORITE PARTS OF THESE BOOKS ON MY PHONE SO I’LL HIGHLIGHT THEM AND POST!

STAY TRUE AND BEAUTIFUL, 

YAZZY

Leave a Reply

