The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

First Impression: WHY IS NOTHING HAPPENING?

I started reading the book and I got to 46% STILL NOTHING HAPPENING. Just describing HER and her LIFE and frequently while reading the beginning- middle of this book I was reminded of non-fiction, not the good non-fiction, the utterly boring non-fiction. I was also reminded why I stopped reading this book. I remember picking it up a few years ago, maybe just a year ago actually and putting it down because the author didn’t seem to be getting anywhere.

BUT

I am an impatient person (currently working on that weakness to make it a strength). Because when I got to where (SPOILER SPOILER ALERT SPOILER SPOILER)

Cosme (can’t find the accent thing) kidnaps her, the beginning didn’t seem so boring after all. The beginning seemed much more interesting and as I kept reading I was very very impressed with the author. She has a lot of skill like…wow.

I was very impressed with two character’s character transition though: Elisa’s and Alejandro’s. At the beginning, Elisa was described as fat, loved to eat pastries, spoiled, innocent and complacent, weak enough not to ask for information, not speaking her mind, accepting to be ignored…etc. Alejandro was indecisive, confused, thoughtless, didn’t know what in the world he was doing or even thinking of…

Elisa…her transformation was beautiful Because:

“Then I remember Ximena. Arina hadn’t bothered to serve her. I hand her my platter, smiling in apology. She winks at me and grabs a tiny quiche. As I settle the platter between us, I notice several of my companions looking at me strangely. I wonder what i’ve done wwrong. Maybe they’re not used to seeing a servant treated with respect. Or maybe I don’t eat daintily enough for them.

I stuff another pastry into my mouth and stare right back.”

Elisa didn’t care what others thought of her. She cared about what she thought of herself. Yet other times in the book, she makes a point of stating just how insulted or hurt or disappointed she is when she looks at herself.

What I’m impressed by is her character though, not her weight. Honestly, I think it would have been better to keep her fat so people realize that they were too busy trying to guess how much she weighed, they couldn’t focus on how much she’d learned. When she came back from the desert, I highly resented the way Alejandro looked at her when before he only regarded her in politeness and took advantage of her. I wanted to see his face, when Elisa came back, proud and confident.

“”The Perditos,” I whisper. Is this why he is always so indecisive? Because he is terrified?

“Yes, the Perditos. See how unheroic I am? You saved me that day, remember?

I hadn’t realized having one’s life saved could be so humilaiting. I barely refrain from rolling my eyes at him. “I promise to spare you future embarrassment. Next time, I;ll let you die.”

He winces, and I wish I could take the words back. Where does this new, cruel Elisa come from? “I understand,” I say by a way of peace offering.””

But at the same time, I’m glad for Elisa’s physical transition. She didn’t become slimmer, or thinner, or lost weight, she became stronger and it reflected on her body. All those weeks walking through the desert, like she said to Belen, it makes you strong. She learned how to toughen up, draw out her inner warrior in her own way, not her sister’s way. …SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER

Walking for hours, days, weeks with little to eat, enduring a sandstorm, being captured by that weird creepy dude, Humberto’s death, Cosme yelling at her, challening her at every corner.

They all took a toll on her. As her mental state changed, as her character changed, as she learned and steeled herself into a woman, she was doing so physically also. I also like how she didn’t MAGICALLY. So that when she came back, she wasn’t even more beautiful because she lost weight, she was more beautiful because she wasn’t weak, she was active, she demanded and fought for what she wanted and believed.

I also applaud the author for somehow managing to base the entire book on religion and God and yet SOMEHOW still make it into some form of dystopia/fiction/YA stuff. It was awesome. It really was.

In terms of skill and plot and planning…this author I think, beats ALL THE OTHERS. This book has some uniqueness…I think everyone should read it, really. And I hated the ending! Not as bad as Delirium series but still, didn’t like it at all!

But as I looked for the picture of the book like…2 minutes ago I saw that the book is a trilogy and suddenly the ending seems fitting, exciting.

…but in terms of feels and jumping around and stuff errrrrgg….no. It’s a serious read and I like it, definitely would read again which is saying a lot since I can’t read Obsidian  twice and I love that book with all my heart. I really like this book…probably a #1 or #3

P.S. I like the representation. People of different languages. The main character herself even hinted that people didn’t usually trust people with dark skin (the people who were working with the enemy b/c they had dark skin) but hers and Alejandro’s were dark. Dark skinned doesn’t have to be dark brown, it can be any color that isn’t fair. And in a lot of books that I’ve read so far, dark skinned characters are lacking as supporting and main characters. Maybe I’m just not reading the right books. But yeah, I like it, I love it.

Elisa’s song:

[spotify spotify:track:6bRbeEgg8v8BQ0HuVuPE7v]
Leave a Reply

