Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen

I found time to read in the midst of my schedule. I haven’t found time…but with all the hectiness I relax with books xD so I’ve been reading the same book here and there and I wish it would rain in my town for just two days! Or at least get the gloomy weather so I can make some hot coco with cinnamon and my mom’s meat pies and wrap myself in blankets and then just read this book because it’s nice like that :p

But the weather has prevented that from happening. Its halfway through October and it was 87° yesterday. Bbbalallllhgggg

Okay book review time. I haven’t finished the book yet. But I have a LOT OF favorite quotes from it because again it’s that kind of book. You won’t see a lot of those on my blog though; I’m more paranormal vampire, angels, goddesses, werewolves and trolls and what not lol. But this really touched my heart; it wasn’t paranormal. It was just general fiction or real life fiction I guess you could say…like a The Fault in Our Stars kind of thing. So.

With no further ado, I present my favorite quotes from Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen!! (Fav. Quotes BEFORE the review??! Yup! Let’s mix thing sup and get crazy!!!! Lol I have accepted I am a booknerd and I am PROUD OF IT!!!! Maybe I can use that for my application you know? Like -I am proud to be a booknerd because frequently I have been referred to as a dork and it offends me because it is the wrong label to put on me, if I need a label at all. I am a booknerd, not a dork. So I tell them to consult the Venn diagram of dorks, nerds geeks, and dweebs- lol essay done. No…I’m going to put my sweat and blood into that statement too :p.

Okay REALLY! Here you go, Quotes time!)

This is my favorite quote from the book and what I believe is TRULY the theme of the entire novel:

“What is family? They were the people who claimed you. In good, in bad, in parts or in whole, they were the ones who showed up, who stayed in there, regardless. It wasn’t just about blood relations or shared chromosomes, but something wider, bigger. We had many families over time. Our family of origin, the family we created, and the groups you moved through while all of this was happening: friends, lovers, sometimes even strangers. None of them perfect, and we couldn’t expect them to be. You can’t make any one person your world. The trick was to take what each could give you and build your world from it.”

“Anyone can hide. Facing things, working through them, that’s what makes you strong.”

“It’s a lot easier to be lost than found. It’s the reason we’re always searching and rarely discovered- so many locks, not enough keys”

“She sat back, brushing her braids away from her face. ‘My point is, there are a lot of people in the world. No one ever sees everything the same way you do; it just doesn’t happen. So if you find one person who gets a couple of things, especially if they’re the important ones… you might as well hold on to them. You know?”

lock and key1

“We can’t expect everybody to be there for us, all at once. So it’s a lucky thing that really, all you need is someone. ”

 

“Total commitment,” I said. “You know, the idea of discovering something that, for all intents and purposes, goes against your abilities, and yet still deciding to do it anyway. That takes guts, you know?”

 

AND SO MUCH MORE!!!!!

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

