Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen

REVIEW AFTER MONTHS!!!!
So. Lock and Key…

First of all, I mention what a great author Sarah Dessen is…

Usually, I wouldn’t pick a book like this off the shelf. I’m more of a supernatural type person. But what the neck. My statistic teacher read it and loved it and she has recommended me so many books so far that have been GREAT so I thought, hey, why not try something new.

It was great. It’s something sort of like the Fault in our Stars…well it has the same feel to it. At first the mood was just too depressing for me but dang…it was GOOD. I didn’t cry but it was GOOD.

It’s one of those books you’ll definately want to read for Thanksgiving or for a night by the fireplace when you’re all huddled up and warm in your bed or with family. It’s good, it really is. It felt like when I was reading My Cup of Tea (which is shorter than this book). I just felt that soft feeling you??? Its not my absolute favorite but I love it and I’ll probably buy it in paperback or harcocer for my bookshelf even though it’s pretty expensive for me. It’s just a pick up and read your favorite page kind of book.

Characters:

Absolutely WONDERFUL!!! I liked her mom is that funny? After taking AP Lit this year and I’m not even halfway through, and writing a whole essay about evil, how it is inherent in man, blah blah the works, I realized the evil and bad characters of the book are the most interesting to look At. Because they’re reasons for becoming such an unpleasant character is completely different from the surface of what it might seem. It’s really unpleasant reasons but it’s interesting, that something so little can cause a change so big, so wide that it spans into her children’s lives and we SEE THIS EVERYDAY WITH DIVORCE PARENTS AND THEIR CHILREN. I’m not saying those parents are evil, just that it’s so interesting the changes that come about due to something so little.

Which of course goes to my motto for Get Active. Little action, big change. Honestly, for better or for worse small actions are very effective xD.

So here are some quotes from Lock and Key that I absolutely LOVE!!!!”

” it’s a lot easier to be lost than found. It’s the reason we’re always searching, and rarely discovered—so many locks, not enough keys.”


She sat back, brushing her braids away from her face. “My point is, there are a lot of people in the world. No one ever sees everything the same way you do; it just doesn’t happen. So when you find one person who gets a couple of things, especially if they’re important ones . . . you might as well hold on to them. You know?”

Was it being loyal even against your better judgment? Or, like Olivia, was it making your displeasure known from the start, even when someone didn’t want to hear it?

My phone erased all my copies…so all the quotes from the beginning were erased…if you want some really deep, Good life lessons read Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen. Its absolutely fabulous!

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

