The Bluest Eyes by Toni Morrison

dvdr1

Book: The Bluest Eyes by Toni Morrison

Genre: Literary Fiction (Like…real books. The ones English majors read and stuff)

Rating: ♥♥

5-word Summary: A little too strong, very realistic

Recommend? Yeah, if you like modern literature

dvdr1

First book I’ve read written by a black author! An intelligent, great, black writer! (All everyone knows is Maya Angelou right?)

I understood the book. The racism, how society can completely wither away someone so innocent…take complete advantage of the innocence of youth and implant impossible expectations into the minds of young girls.

How it can eventually drive us crazy , literally, to the point where we don’t even know what’s real and what’s fake, and we would rather prefer what’s fake once we know. We become delusional, crazy and vain because that is what society has made of us.

Very Lord of the Flies is but in a different and more interesting way to apply it to race. And I wish this book was a recommendation because I mean, there is racism in black culture too and this book shows that. There is racism everywhere. You’re too black to be black, you’re too light to be black, you’re too dark to be white, etc. Racism is within a race just as it is within a society of diverse races, if that makes any sense at all.

Except I didn’t like it. The extent Morrison went to deliver these messages was just too much for me. I know, I know, this is reality. SHE PAINTED REALITY SO PERFECTLY. And I read to escape reality, not sink even further into it’s injustice and absurdities. I mean there’s nothing wrong with knowing all this, but it doesn’t go with the reason why I read.

I read it for Lit, so I like it, in the sense that I get to analyze it and write about and rant. But in if I had to read it on my own free time as a quick read, nope. No. It’s too heavy in concept and I just…no. It’s all reality, and I can deal in my world of fiction.

So chose this book if you’re doing a project on insanity/self/psychology/anthropology/race/sociology/etc.

Don’t chose this book if you’re bored and want to go on a magical adventure to a land of hot guys and aliens and whatnot. Lol.

I hope this gave people an incentive. It’s a wonderful book and on a day where I really have had enough of fiction, I’ll pick it up and read it, ponder about its messages and rant about it on tumblr. Its GOOD. It’s REALLY GOOD. But there’s a time and place for it, you just have to figure out when that should be.

 

Toodiloo, my beautifuls!!!

Leave a Reply

