Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

16068905

dvdr1

Book: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Genre: RL Young Adult Fiction

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

5-word Summary: Hilarious, I REALLY LOVE IT!

Recommend? YAS YAS!!

Warnings? A little profanity

dvdr1

General Review:

I finished reading fangirl at 3 a.m. All the while I was reading it that night (and early morning) I was trying so hard to whisper-squeal as quietly as I could but it was impossible! It’s GOOD! It’s not like the Timber Wolves series where it’s just “OMG THAT’S HILARIOUS” and you laugh and you’re done. It’s like…how when you read Lux Series and you realize you’re just like Katy Swatz. Except now you run a fanfiction, you don’t own a book review blog. Cath is amazing, I don’t like Wren, their dad is awesome and I just love that it’s so realistic.

It didn’t have a ‘happily ever after’ ending. Cath didn’t magically solve her problems (trying not to be a spoiler) . It’s like reading a story about your own life with real problems and then you think “Is my life really this funny and messed up?” but then you’re okay with it because you realize nothing is supposed to be organized or laid out; like you’re supposed to figure everything out.

I loved it. The characters had so much depth you could understand what they did even though you hated their decision or didn’t agree with them. They had REALISTIC depth even though everything in the book sounded so fake and unreal. Rainbow is crazy smart and I love her; my favorite author (among Karen Lynch and JLA).

It’s different from Attachments but you can almost tasted the Rainbow Rowell in the sentences, like you can tell it was written by her. I love her hilarity and how you can always relate to her characters even though you know they’re being pretty ridiculous. I’m skipping the characters and going straight to the quotes!

“Reagan grimaced and shuddered again. “So why aren’t you living with your sister?”

“She wanted to meet new people,” Cath said.

“You make it sound like she broke up with you.”

Cath speared another Brussels sprout. “She lives in Schramm,” she said to her tray. When she looked up, Reagan was scowling at her.

“You’re making me feel sorry for you again,” Reagan said.

Cath turned her fork on Reagan. “Don’t feel sorry for me. I don’t want you to feel sorry for me.”

“I can’t help it,” Reagan said. “You’re really pathetic.”

“I am not.”

“You are. You don’t have any friends, your sister dumped you, you’re a freaky eater … And you’ve got some weird thing about Simon Snow.”

“I object to every single thing you just said.”

Reagan chewed. And frowned. She was wearing dark red lipstick.

“I have lots of friends,” Cath said.

“I never see them.”

“I just got here. Most of my friends went to other schools. Or they’re online.”

“Internet friends don’t count.””

“I didn’t want a roommate either,” Cath said. “I mean … I thought I was going to live with my sister.”

“You have a sister who goes here?”

“Twin.”

“Ew. Weird.”

“Why is that weird?” Cath asked.

“It just is. It’s creepy. Like having a doppelgänger. Are you identical?”

“Technically.”

“Ew.” Reagan shuddered melodramatically.

“It’s not creepy,” Cath said. “What is wrong with you?””

“I feel sorry for you, and I’m going to be your friend.”

“I don’t want to be your friend,” Cath said as sternly as she could. “I like that we’re not friends.”

“Me, too,” Reagan said. “I’m sorry you ruined it by being so pathetic.””

“Nick wanted to meet on campus at Love Library. (That was the actual name; thank you for your donation, Mayor Don Lathrop Love.) Nick worked there a few nights a week, shelving books down in the stacks.”

“You’re a sad little hermit, and it creeps me out. So get dressed. We’re going bowling.”
Cath laughed. “Bowling?”
“Oh, right,” Reagan said. “Like bowling is more pathetic than everything else you do.””


Wren usually lost interest in a guy as soon as she’d won him over. The conversion was her favorite part. “That moment,” she told Cath, “when you realize that a guy’s looking at you differently—that you’re taking up more space in his field of vision. That moment when you know he can’t see past you anymore.””

“ed and pulled out his key ring.

Her jaw dropped. “You have a key to our room?”

“Reagan gave me her spare, for emergencies.” He unlocked the door and held it open for her.

“Then why are you always sitting in the hall?”

“That’s never an emergency.””


Cath pulled the rubber band out of her hair and took off her glasses; she had to step closer to the mirror to see herself clearly.

She lifted her chin up and forced her forehead to relax. “I’m the Cool One,” she told herself. “Somebody give me some tequila because I’ll totally drink it. And there’s no way you’re going to find me later having a panic attack in your parents’ bathroom. Who wants to French-kiss?””


By the time they got to the door, Cath’s stomach had realized what was happening. It twisted painfully, and she could feel her breath coming and going too soon.

She couldn’t believe she was doing this. Boy. Party. Strangers. Beer. Strangers. Party. Boy. Eye contact.”


Levi’s smile broke free and devoured his whole face. It started to devour her face, too. Cath had to look away.”


Smiling is confusing, she thought. This is why I don’t do it.””


“He’d just told me that we couldn’t use Frankenstein in our Frankenbeans pitch, because nobody cares about Frankenstein anymore. Kids want zombies.”

“But they’re not called Zombiebeans.”

“They will be if ******** Kelly has his way. We’re pitching ‘Zombeanie Weenies.’”

“Wow, how did you stay grounded through all that?”

“I was fantasizing about eating his brain.””

“id. “Look at us.”

“We’re both English majors,” Cath said. “We’re both white. We live in Nebraska. We listen to the same music, we watch the same TV shows, we even have the same pair of Chuck Taylors—””

2 thoughts on “Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

